Starting at the beginning of January 2018, many new laws will be going into effect in the state of California.
Cell phones while driving
Californians are no longer allowed to use a handheld wireless phone or device while driving, unless the device is placed on the dashboard so that it doesn’t get in the way of the driver’s view of the road.
Minimum will increase from $10 an hour to $10.50 an hour for businesses with 25 or fewer employees and increase from $10.50 to $11 per hour for businesses with 26 or more employees.
Sexual assault clarification
Sexually assaulting an unconscious or severely intoxicated person will become ineligible for probation.
Beginning Jan. 1, California public schools will be banned from using the name “Redskins” for sports teams and mascots.
Beginning March 1, it is requires that all single-user toilet facilities in any business or public place to be all-gender facilities.
Youth sports health protocol
Youth sports organizations will be required to notify parents or guardians of athletes under 17 years old that have been removed from physical activity because of suspected concussion.
Recycled drinking water
It will be highly encouraged to drink and allowed for Californians to drink recycled water (purified reused water).